What are the Adjacent Islands?

If you didn’t come here from our page on travelling during your program, you should check it out for tips on how to plan ahead to make sure your return home goes smoothly.

Why is this list important?

As you hopefully have read, you need special authorization from your sponsor to return to the US if you plan any international travel. Exceptions to this are trips to Canada, Mexico and the Adjacent Islands.

A popular option for people staying on the East Coast who have the means to do some more exploring, might take an island cruise while they are here. It is important to understand your full itinerary. If even one stop requires authorization and you don’t have it, you may not even be let on. If the cruise changes course and you are not prepared, you might have problems re-entering the US.

For trips to these islands, special travel permission should not be required.

The adjacent islands are:

  • Saint-Pierre
  • Miquelon
  • Cuba
  • The Dominican Republic
  • Haiti
  • Bermuda
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Jamaica
  • The Windward and Leeward Islands
  • Trinidad
  • Martinique
  • Other British, French, and Netherlands territory or possessions in or bordering on the Caribbean Sea

Click here for the official list.